Fresh Ricotta Cheese- With Lemon instead of Rennet

1

I recently made a lasagna but used cottage cheese instead of Ricotta because the price difference was astronomical. But I miss the flavour and texture of the ricotta and my cravings led me to find a fresh, less expensive and way more flavourful version!

I don’t have cheesecloth but I’m very impatient and I want fresh cheese NOW! 🙂

In order to improvise I opened a fresh package of on sale American Apparel tights that I had in my closet and cut off a leg! Instant cheese cloth substitute….sorry American Apparel!

2

Ingredients

1.5 Cups of Milk

1/2 Cup of Cream

1/4 Teaspoon Sea Salt

1 1/2 Lemon Juice

Note: Makes 1/2 cup ricotta- Double recipe for larger batch!

Directions

Step 1-

Add milk, cream, and salt to stock pot and turn stove to medium heat and stir continuously so it does not burn . If you have a candy thermometer bring mixture to 190 degrees Fahrenheit and remove. If your like me and do not have one do not fret! Simply keep your eye on the mixture and as your stirring watch for signs of foaming, you will know its almost time once you start to smell the warm milk and its foamy like the picture below, remove just before its going to boil. Boiling is 212 degrees Fahrenheit.

3

Step 2-

 After you remove the pot from the heat, gently stir in your lemon juice, one or two rotations. Then let the mixture sit for at least 5 minutes.

4

Step 3-

Using your cheese cloth or cut off pantyhose sock and line a strainer over a bowl to drain the liquid whey away from the cheese curds. Leave  it sit for an hour for a soft cheese and longer for a drier cheese. I used my whisk to push out the pantihose making it easier for me to pour in the liquid.

5

2 thoughts on “Fresh Ricotta Cheese- With Lemon instead of Rennet

  1. Pingback: Sitting On My Tuffet | The Great Dorset Vegetable Experiment

Leave a comment