Baked Okra

pic3

Okra! Fast becoming one of my favourite veggies! I discovered these delightful little greens about a year ago when I was living in Dubai. My rental apartment was severely lacking in tools to cook with, so for the first few weeks I was forced to eat out more than I’m used to and a co-worker took pity on me inviting me to have dinner with her family. She made a traditional Indian meal with Okra and I was hooked.

At first I was only able to find the frozen variety, which worked okay in a tomato based jambalaya, but I found they became super slimy and it was a huge turn off.

I completely forgot about my Okra experiments after moving back to Canada, until last week when I was at a small Chinese grocery store and found a huge bin of fresh pods. Since I’ve made several special trips back  just to pick  them up, and I’ve found my favourite way to eat them!

This recipe is so easy, and makes a great appetizer or lunch with a side salad.

pic2

Ingredients

1/4 Cup- Oatmeal Flour

1 teaspoon- Grape Seed Oil

1 teaspoon- Chia Seeds

1/2 teaspoon- Chilli Powder

1/2 teaspoon-Cumin

2 Handfuls of Okra

Sriracha sauce for dipping

Preheat your oven to 500 degrees.

Grind your oatmeal groats and chia seeds into flour with your blender or use your favourite type of flour for the coating. Add your favourite spice to to the flour, I chose chilli powder and cumin.

Cut your okra in half lengthwise and coat with the olive oil, I found using a zip-lock bag helped evenly coat the okra. Once coated drop in your spiced flour, close, and shake the bag until okra is completely covered.

Spread okra on a cookie sheet, being careful not to overlap them or they will not cook evenly,  pop them in the oven on the lowest tray. The high heat helps to crisp the okra while keeping a soft texture in the middle. Bake until browned about ten to fifteen minutes and serve immediately. They taste the best while still warm and tend to loose their crispness if left too long.

pic1

Serve with a sriracha for a hot kick!

Enjoy!

pic4

One thought on “Baked Okra

Leave a Reply

