Chemical Free- Shampoo & Conditioner

2

Make your own shampoo? What? I know its all the rage but it took me ages to try this, usually I’m in a hurry to get ready and I don’t have time to re do my hair if it does not turn out, so I’ve always held off on trying this! Plus I’ve been making my own house hold cleaners and using chemical free make up and lotions, so the more ways I can find to stop leaching chemicals into my skin the better!

I have to say I’ve waited about a month before posting this because I wanted to keep trying the routine to make sure it was working and it wasn’t some trick of my mind wanting it to work!

So, the results, my hair has not been this full, thick, or manageable in 5 years! I just thought maybe as I was getting older my hair just wasn’t the way it used to be. But nope, it was just coated in crap.  Try this I promise you will not be disappointed, and once you have the basics down you can start experimenting and adding extra nutrients and smells!

3

Basic Shampoo

Step 1. Clean out an old shampoo or conditioner bottle.

Step 2. Use 2 cups of cold water & 2 Table spoons of backing soda, mix in a measuring cup and pour into the container. Store in your shower like you normally would.

Step 3. After you wet your hair, shake up the bottle and use about half a cup (roughly- just squeeze until your hair is thoroughly wet). Work the shampoo into your scalp and throughout the rest of your hair , you will feel the grainy texture of the baking soda in the mixture. Rinse as you usually would & follow up with conditioner.

Note: Your hair will feel surprisingly soft.

7

Basic Conditioner

Step 1. Use a glass jar to store your conditioner. Start with 1 cup of water per 1 tablespoon of unpasteurized apple cider vinegar. You can make as much or as little as you want.

Step 2. Add fragrance to your conditioner. The apple cider vinegar acts to de tangle and gives your hair a lustrous shine, but lets not kid our selves, who wants to smell like vinegar. You have so many options when it comes to adding a scents to your conditioner. Here are two options that I like to use.

4

A. Rose water or essential oils. Just add a few drops until it overpowers the vinegar smell. Tea tree oil is another popular additive.

B. Natural Infusion- Cinnamon sticks  or Citrus peels- orange, lemon, or lime. Add the infusion to a jar of your conditioner and leave in the fridge for a few days.

 

Note: Always store your conditioner in a glass jar in the fridge until you need it! I always make two batches at a time, the rose water conditioner to use immediately and the infusion to go in the fridge for the next wash.

 

Experiment with your own scents & enjoy your new clean chemical free hair!

5

Leave a Reply

